Many drivers in North Carolina may know that the so-called “per se” limit to legally drive a car after drinking is set at 0.08 percent blood alcohol concentration. The law essentially creates a mandatory presumption that any driver who measures 0.08 percent BAC or more is too impaired to drive.
But the law in the state has another prong aimed at drivers who are under the influence of alcohol or other impairing substance. In these situations, the officer may testify about observations of driving conduct, performance on field sobriety tests and other observations made of a driver during an investigatory stop.
Notably, North Carolina law does not limit impaired driving offenses to those involving allegations of alcohol. A person who takes prescription medications or other drugs may be accused of DUI or DWI in North Carolina.